A Flash Back | Remembering Uganda’s Past 50 Years 1962 – 2012

Posted October 8, 2012 by Ugandan Diaspora News Team in Events ~ 3,213 views


Historical Snapshot — Uganda gained independence from Britain on October 9th 1962, maintaining its Commonwealth membership as a former British colony. The first post-independence election, held in 1962, was won by an alliance between the Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Kabaka Yekka (KY).

UPC and KY formed the first post-independence government with Milton Obote as executive Prime Minister, the Buganda Kabaka (King) Edward Muteesa II held the largely ceremonial position of President and William Wilberforce Nadiope, the Kyabazinga (paramount chief) of Busoga, was Vice President.

In 1966, following a power struggle between the Obote-led government and King Muteesa, the UPC-dominated Parliament dismissed the constitution and removed the ceremonial President and vice President. In 1967, a new constitution proclaimed Uganda a republic and abolished the traditional kingdoms. Without first calling elections, Obote was declared the executive President.

After a military coup in 1971, Obote was deposed from power and the dictator Idi Amin seized control of the country. Amin ruled Uganda with the military for the next eight years and carried out mass killings within the country to maintain his rule.

An estimated 300,000 Ugandans lost their lives at the hands of his regime. Aside from his brutalities, he forcibly removed the entrepreneurial Asian minority from Uganda, which left the country’s economy in ruins.  Amin’s atrocities were graphically accounted in the 1977 book, “A State of Blood,” which was written by one of his former ministers, Henry Kyemba after he fled the country.

Amin’s reign was ended after the Uganda-Tanzania War in 1979 in which Tanzanian forces aided by Ugandan exiles invaded Uganda. This led to the return of Obote II regime, he was deposed once more in 1985 by Generals Tito Okello.

Okello ruled for six months until he was deposed after the “bush war” led by the National Resistance Army (NRA) operating under the leadership of the current president, Yoweri Museveni, and various rebel groups, including the Federal Democratic Movement of Andrew Kayiira, and FEDEMU belonging to John Nkwaanga.

President Museveni who has been in power since 26th January 1986 has been the longest serving President accounting for more than 25 years as head of State to the Republic of Uganda. Since Independence Uganda has had a total of 9 Presidents.

About the Author

Ugandan Diaspora News Team

Ugandan Diaspora News Online is an independent, non political news portal primarily aimed at serving Ugandans who work and reside outside Uganda. Our aim is to be a one stop shop for everything Ugandan and the celebration of our Ugandan heritage.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response