The Weekly Observer | JPAM Launches New Task Force – 6 NRM MPs, Kassiano Wadri on Mbabazi team

Posted December 23, 2015 by Ugandan Diaspora News Team in The Roadmap to 2016 ~ 2,228 views



Independent presidential candidate John Patrick Amama Mbabazi yesterday named a new taskforce that includes five NRM MPs and a number of former ministers.

Mbabazi named two teams: the national campaign team, which is the policy organ of his campaign and the national taskforce charged with the operational aspect of the campaign, and will form structures down to the village level.

The teams comprise about 150 members, including former ministers Gabriel Opio (Gender, Labour and Social Development), Miria Matembe (Ethics and Integrity) and Hope Mwesigye (Agriculture).

The list also has six NRM MPs: Abdil Fadhil Chemaswet (Kween), Peter Okeyo (Bukooli Islands), Nulu Byamukama (Kitagwenda), Godfrey Lubega (Kassanda North), Kyewalabye Majegere (Bunya East) and Florence Kintu (Kalungu Woman).

The list also has FDC’s Kassiano Wadri (Terego) and shadow minister for ICT Allen Andrew (Bugabula North) plus former MPs Assanasio Kayizzi (Kassanda North), John Baptist Kawanga (Masaka municipality) and his predecessor Dr Shannon Kakungulu, Stephen Kaliba (Fort Portal municipality), Julius Balyejusa (PWDs Eastern) and Israel Mayengo, a former NRC member for Gomba, who until recently has been a minister at Mengo.

Also from Mengo is former Katikkiro Joseph Mulwanyammuli Ssemwogerere and former Youths minister Florence Bagunywa Nkalubo as well as her Tourism counterpart Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi who is also running for the Kampala Woman MP seat.

Many members of the teams did not attend the launch at Pope Paul Memorial hotel in Ndeeba, a Kampala suburb, because, according to Mbabazi, the function was at short notice.

“Even Hon Mao with whom we have been moving around the country with is not here; the reason is simply because they had other scheduled engagements and they could not make it,” Mbabazi told The Observer.

However, one NRM MP privately told this writer they could not make it to the venue because they were trailed by suspicious elements from home up to Wandegeya.

Meanwhile, Mbabazi also announced that under their Go-Forward – TDA (U) (The Democratic Alliance – Uganda) they fielded a total of 345 parliamentary candidates out of the 406 constituencies. This is in addition to 72 candidates for LC-V chairmanship, 700 candidates for LC-V councilors and 720 candidates for LC-III chairmanship.

Source — Weekly Observer

About the Author

Ugandan Diaspora News Team

Ugandan Diaspora News Online is an independent, non political news portal primarily aimed at serving Ugandans who work and reside outside Uganda. Our aim is to be a one stop shop for everything Ugandan and the celebration of our Ugandan heritage.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response