UG Elections | Museveni Declared Winner as NUP Becomes the Dominant Party to Lead Opposition in Parliament (LoP) after Disputed Poll

Posted January 16, 2021 by Ugandan Diaspora News Team in Uganda Elections ~ 2,360 views


Uganda’s President Yoweri Museveni won a sixth term in office, fighting off a challenge from Hon. Robert Kyagulanyi Sentamu also know as Bobi Wine — who was just a child when Museveni came into power in 1986. Pundits and skeptics described Kyagulanyi as an amateur in Presidential politics who many believed had punched above his weight but his revolution swept across the central region including Uganda’s capitol were supporters won big taking all the seats except the Kampala Central MP position won by Independent Candidate Mohammed Nsereko.

The nation’s electoral commission announced on Saturday that Museveni received 58% of the vote to 34% for Wine, according to the Associated Press. Kyagulanyi alleged massive voter fraud, as election officials face questions over how results were tallied amid an internet blackout, according to the AP. Challenger Bobi Wine was under heavy guard at his home on the outskirts of Kampala as results were announced, his party saying he was under ‘effective house arrest.’

Though Kyagulanyi may have lost the battle for presidency his NUP party emerged with the highest number of MPs (61 in total) that will be joining the parliament thereby scooping the coveted Leader of opposition position. The Leader of Opposition (LOP) in Uganda is the title bestowed upon the elected leader of the largest political party not within the ruling government. The leading opposition party appoints and heads an alternative Shadow Cabinet whose duty is to challenge and influence government legislation on the floor of Parliament.

Over 22 Cabinet Ministers lost their seats in Parliament and these included the Vice President. See complete list below. 1: Vice President Edward Kiwanuka Ssekandi 2: Ephraim Kamuntu (Justice)3: Mwesigwa Rukutana (Labour)4: Ruth Nankabirwa(Chief Whip)5: Simon Lokodo (Ethics) 6: Ronald Kibuule (Water) 7: Rosemary Sseninde(Education)8:Chrysostom Muyingo ( Education ministry)9: Haruna Kasolo (Microfinance) 10: Christopher Kibanzanga (Veteran affairs)11: Elioda Tumwesigye (Science and Technology) 12: Beatrice Anywar (Environment)13: Amelia Kyambadde (Trade and Cooperative) 14:Nakiwala Kiyingi (Youth) 15: Beti Kamya(Lands) 16: Judith Nabakooba (ICT) 17: Kasirivu Atwooki (Vice Presidents office) 18: Isaac Musumba (Urban Planning) 19:Ernest Kiiza (Bunyoro Affairs) 20: Vincent Ssempijja (Agriculture) 21: Molly Kamukama 22: Jane Akiror (Tesso Affairs)

Source – Skynews video, Ugandan Diaspora News and Agencies.

About the Author

Ugandan Diaspora News Team

Ugandan Diaspora News Online is an independent, non political news portal primarily aimed at serving Ugandans who work and reside outside Uganda. Our aim is to be a one stop shop for everything Ugandan and the celebration of our Ugandan heritage.


Be the first to comment!

You must be logged in to post a comment.